Cutting out Aptasia

jdabs

Market
Reaction score
So, I'm trying to get rid of some aptasia and I was wondering if cutting them out would release any harmful toxins or anything else that could cause issues with the tank. Let me know. Thanks!

It will cause them to spread. Have you tried, heard of kalk paste?

Well, I am not an expert but here is what I do </em>know...

It does not die easily
Realistically, it does not die at all
If you cut it, the frags can reroot and spread...like crazy
It can be burned out but that is a bit dangerous...I forget the name of the chemical but it's in many drain openers.
Many of the Aptasia eliminating kits do not work. Some do like Joes Juice but there are no guarantees.
Lemon juice is used by injecting it into the mouth.
A true peppermint shrimp will eat aptasia....

Hope some of this helps.

MvM;277309 wrote: It will cause them to spread. Have you tried, heard of kalk paste?

I've heard about it but don't know much about it. I'm pretty new to this whole thing. :) I cut one out already and by taking the rock out of the water and then cutting the whole body off the rock and disposing of it. But I figured I'd better ask someone who knows more than me before I continued.

coolsurf;277312 wrote: Well, I am not an expert but here is what I do </em>know...

It does not die easily
Realistically, it does not die at all
If you cut it, the frags can reroot and spread...like crazy
It can be burned out but that is a bit dangerous...I forget the name of the chemical but it's in many drain openers.
Many of the Aptasia eliminating kits do not work. Some do like Joes Juice but there are no guarantees.
Lemon juice is used by injecting it into the mouth.
A true peppermint shrimp will eat aptasia....

Hope some of this helps.

Thanks CoolSurf! I was thinking about trying the lemon juice trick. I have a peppermint but doesn't seem like he's really doing anything. I rarely see him. Maybe he's not a true peppermint?