acro changed from green to purple.

russ-iv

Market
Reaction score
i bought a frag this past weekend that looked something like this...

wa9a_acropora_colony_45885.jpg
alt="" />

but now it morphed in to this...

2qsro00.jpg
alt="" />

not sure what to make of it. keep in mind this is my first attempt at sps. my other tanks were lps dominant.

you broke it.

haha, jk, looks pretty healthy to me. possibility that mother colony was so dense that it didn't get much light in the light colored areas

walterp1982;1038591 wrote: you broke it.

haha, jk, looks pretty healthy to me. possibility that mother colony was so dense that it didn't get much light in the light colored areas

yeah. except i debated on the acro during my crash for 2 weeks. this frag was all by it's lonesome in Rit's shop during that time.

You have different lighting and flow than Rit. I have a tyree setosa that looked bright red in Rit's tank and it's more of a blood orange in my tank. I don't think there is anything wrong with it, just a difference in lighting and flow.

Crew;1038713 wrote: You have different lighting and flow than Rit. I have a tyree setosa that looked bright red in Rit's tank and it's more of a blood orange in my tank. I don't think there is anything wrong with it, just a difference in lighting and flow.

thanks for confirming what i thought.

my question is if the base that was green changed to the same color as the tips, does that mean its getting too much light? or its growing around the base? getting rid of zoox?

change in lighting is rather vague

My guess would be the lighter green color is new growth and the purple color is older growth - IE it changes from green to purple as it ages. Maybe it's stalling from getting less light or less calcium/alk/mag? It's still fairly new to your tank, it could be adjusting still.

Which tank was it in at Rits? Was it under LEDs? T5s? What is your lighting setup?