Acrylic vs glass

kevinbeth

Market
Reaction score
I had a custom 125 ( 60 x 18 x 24)built by a member here a few years ago but the overflow in the middle is bugging me. I can't decide if I want the tank or not. I built a whole custome bookshelf to house this tank and make it a show piece. I've been looking at other tanks with the overflow in the corner. I like it much better but I keep coming across acrylic tanks. I have no experience with acrylic. Just looking for opinions?

If the overflow in the middle is black, once it has coraline on it, you'll never even notice it. Frankly, IMO for a single overflow, that's the best place for it but I understand your reservations. Acrylic has come a long way from where it was just a few years ago. I think that you'll find that most any of the larger tanks are now being built from acrylic. The old arguments of it yellowing are now gone with the newer modified acrylic that is on the market. The tank is much lighter so building a massive support structure isn't as necessary. Finally, the argument for scratching can be had for glass as well. If I ever go bigger than my 180...I'm going acrylic!

Would look better in the corner
<fieldset class="gc-fieldset">
<legend> Attached files </legend>
1054525=64591-1444576263732.jpg
>
1054525=64591-1444576263732.jpg
class="gc-images" title="1444576263732.jpg[/IMG] style="max-width:300px" /></a> </fieldset>

All I will say is that over the past 5 years of being with Premier we have had significantly more tank emergency calls for Acrylic tanks then glass.

kevinbeth;1054545 wrote: What kind of emergency?

Usually for seams that came apart abruptly and caused major leaking or flooding. There are various methods that acrylic panels can be "seamed" or "glued" together. Some seem to work better than others.