Adding kalk to existing topoff system - questions

parsonsaj

Market
Reaction score
I've had a fairly low-tech auto topoff system for a couple years now for my 65 gallon reef tank. It's basically a 10 gallon aquarium with some small powerhead attached to a JBJ ATO controller. I fill the tank with RODI every time it gets low and that's about all there is to that. Never had an issue with the JBJ or its float valves.

In an effort to keep more consistent calcium, alk, and pH numbers, I am considering adding kalkwasser to the ATO equation. In order to do this, I am planning on only letting the ATO be active at night (when pH naturally drops), and am switching out the powerhead with a dosing pump (Aqualifter).

Some questions I have:

1) is it going to be a pain to mix the kalk in with the RODI water? I have never worked with it before but I understand it tends to create a sludge in the bottom of whatever container it is mixed in

2) Should I have the intake for the Aqualifter pump well above the bottom of the tank to avoid the sludge/slurry?

3) is it worthwhile to run a powerhead in the tank during the day to keep the kalk stirred up? If this is a viable thing to do, I could envision it running on a timer for a few hours during daylight, giving the stuff plenty of time to settle down prior to the ATO turning on after the lights are off.

4) I have one open port left on my RK2 controller. I was going to plug the ATO system into the controller, and use it to turn it on only during the hours that the main lights are off. Is it possible on the RK2 to have both a timer setting, and a pH-based setting (ie don't let it turn on IF the tank pH is above a threshold level?)

Thanks in advance for any input or suggestions.

Jack