Aiptasia in my fuge

fishtank

Market
Reaction score
So checking out the new Biocube I picked up and here is a decent sized Aiptasia in the small fuge compartment. can I clamp it and cut it out? Do they produce any toxins etc?

What is it growing on? If it's something you can remove, like a rock, take it out. Then you can nuke it and remove all the remaining tissue.

Leaving it there, it can and will reproduce.

You can always put a Peppermint Shrimp in the refugium and it will take care of it too.

Where there's smoke, there's fire. Leave it there and you'll have many more sooner or later, and they will likely spread to the display.

Jenn

Noob here...

Why are they so bad? Why do you want to get rid of them other than they are prolific in their expansion..?

100%hydrophylic;972940 wrote: Aiptasia in my tanks dont really spread. Ive had 6 or so on my rocks for about 6 years now, and they never spread, but most people remove them because they are known to spread.

They sting corals and irritate them. they can kill corals over time

Gotcha. Not trying to be a thread jacker. Sorry. Just curious. I see medications all over the place to get rid of it. No clue what it is, so I google image'd it and learned it was an anemone. So I figured it was worth asking.

I would kill it asap! I had a bunch in my sump and thought, "whatever. I'll get to it eventually." Within a couple weeks I had a full blown infestation in the dt. Bad news

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hey man did u find this in MY TANK? If so i never saw it ever probably bc im in a wheelchair and anf obviously am not tall enough to see back there but im glad its only one so sry man i wouldve handled that if i knew it was in there! Im very honest and nice im so sorry lmk if u need anything to help with that ill pay for it!