Anemone questions

lsu_fishfan

Market
Reaction score
I've had two long bubble tip anemones in my tank for about a year now, one green and one red. In the past month or so, both anemones have split and I think there might be one smaller one underneath one of the larger greens maybe equalling three!?! How would you guys go about trying to remove the anemones and if I can remove it, how should I keep it without it reattaching? Also, if I sell one, how should I bag it up, Ziplock with rubble? Thanks for any info.

I'm not a pro with this but have heard that you aim a power head at it and it should come loose.

mwbeach;1003366 wrote: I'm not a pro with this but have heard that you aim a power head at it and it should come loose.

I have heard of the powerhead method, but I heard it can take a long time and sometimes the anemone won't even come loose

They can be stubborn. Some times a power head directed right at the foot, sometimes hang them upside down, sometimes a cold spoon against the foot. As for bagging them, no need for rubble unless you want. Put them in a bag with tank water and they are good to go.

rdnelson99;1003375 wrote: They can be stubborn. Some times a power head directed right at the foot, sometimes hang them upside down, sometimes a cold spoon against the foot. As for bagging them, no need for rubble unless you want. Put them in a bag with tank water and they are good to go.

Thanks for the info

Once you get it detached its best to have a basket water can flow through to keep them in the tank or sump until sold.
You can purchase a cheap hatcher/netting basket for $5.00 on eBay that would work for a short period of time.

I use the upside down technique , hanging over a bucket . make sure the Anemone's tentacles are barely in the water . It will finally let go in 20 to 30 minutes in my experience. Whatever you do DON'T forcefully try and pull its foot from the rock. If you damage the foot in most cases they will die