beginner coral opinion

myreefclub0070

Market
Reaction score
well we all didn't just jump right into saltwater with lps and sps corals and some of the more beautiful specimens, myself i started with just saltwater in my tank for a few months then a few fishes for a few months more then added a few of the really easy softies to work on my personal skill and build my confidence before i move on to some of the more demanding stuff.
we all know that new hobby crash is a really big confidence buster and in some cases even deters you from continuing what you started, that being said although some of the softies can become over grown and may even become a nuisance later on, it make you fell good to have grown(not killed) something on your own.
i guess i'm still new to the hobby and may always be, i can't bash the xenias, buttons and some other easy corals that has gotten me this far, so for all the newbies when you hear the veterans call then a plague or tank herpes or other cool names, it's not that its not good for your tank but as you move on you just need to adjust your tank content.
hope most understand what i'm saying and willing to chime in a 2 cents in a positive prospective or not(it's all welcome).

MYREEFCLUB0070;956037 wrote: when you hear the veterans call then a plague or tank herpes or other cool names, it's not that its not good for your tank but as you move on you just need to adjust your tank content.

True, true.

My first was....the (now dreaded) Kenya Tree.
I still have it. Still really, really like it. It's been sitting in my son's tank for about a year.
Now, if only I could find a birth control for that bugger, I'd move it back to the main tank. The way that thing throws off babies, you'd think it was on government welfare.

My other (not so dreaded) was the Green Star Polyp.