Best HOB skimmer?????

sparksfly

Market
Reaction score
I am fairly new to saltwater and currently I have a css 65 HOB skimmer and it has overflowed a couple of times now. I am just ready to upgrade. So what is everyone's pick on the HOB skimmers?:unsure:

Jimmie

I personally love the Aqua C remora. I'll have one for sale soon if youre interested. They are rated up to 75g tanks.

I have heard good things about them. But never really seen one up close or at work. Have any pics of it working?

cant really get pics of it cuz the chamber has tinted plexi. They do a great job at pullin muck out thats for sure. Here are some pics of what its pulled after 4 days on my tank. I do however run it wet cuz my tank is a BB. But you can adjust the height of the collection cup to suite your needs.

I've got a Ramora Pro with the skimmer box I'm selling if you are interested. Its got a pretty big collection cup. I've got an extra cup that has the drain on it but then you have to cut into the acrylic on Ramora pro if you want to use it on it.

So far it sounds likr the remora is the HOB of choice. Are the keen to overflowing like the css are?

because of how they are designed, they cant overflow. If the collection cup were to get too full, the collection would just fall back down the raiser hole; you acn kinda see what I'm talking about in the second pic.

i also have a remora pro on my 26 gallon bow with a mag 3 pumping some major guts!!! :up:

So far so good! Best HOB IMO for a tank 55 or under

Terminator II is the best one I can think of. And it's recirculating. Its huge, and it owns protein like my mother owns me.

How are you running the terminator 2 with the sumpless kit or in the sump? Have you had any problems with it? I can't find any pics of it hooked up.