Calcium Reactor PH probe graph

Dmitri

Market
Reaction score
Hi, I’m new to calcium reactor tuning. After setting up this large system, here is a picture of my ph graph in the reactor. Question, is it normal to dose that much and have ph swing so frequently or show I lower ph in reactor more?

Looks about right to me.
1a5bc57dfb6b3b374d9171617afc394a.jpg

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

The ph level will increase or decrease the amount of alk and calcium dosed, i suggest tuning it to the tank demand for alk, don't worry so much about the graph. Its really hard to setup the reactor to maintain a certain ph level, that is why we have controllers to operate the co2 input.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

The swings in the reactor chamber are perfectly normal. As co2 is released the pH drops and as new tank water is drawn in it goes up. This will happen much faster than if there was no flow through the reactor due to the slow rate the media dissolves.

But if you don't have much demand for Alk & Cal those numbers will go up & up while the reactor is running. In a cycling tank the system will usually use more Alk than Cal. This will cause an imbalance with the reactor running.

I would think your system wouldn't need the reactor running for another 4-6 months but that will depend on the live coral mass in the system. How much coral have you got in there now Dmitri?

No coral yet, still waiting to stabilize alk at about 8. Last week it was 7 and checking daily, seems to be slowly rising. Currently at 7.4
I’m dripping at the rate of about 3-4 drops per second.

No coral yet, still waiting to stabilize alk at about 8. Last week it was 7 and checking daily, seems to be slowly rising. Currently at 7.4
I’m dripping at the rate of about 3-4 drops per second.