Calcium reactor question

bhodges82

Supporting
Reaction score
In the next week or so I will be adding more water volume to my system vis a new sump and frag tank, the question is will I need to adjust my calcium reactor? My thinking is that I shouldn't need to because the demand will be the same, but I'm questioning my theory because I am also thinking that the effluent will be less effective or diluted with the extra water.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

Im still a newb when it comes to calcium reactors....well...reefing in general so there's a high chance Im dead wrong. Going by the reef chemistry calculator thats widely used, changing the water volume changes the amount needed to dose. For example, for a 120g water volume, for a 1dkh consumption you'll need to dose 85.7ml of Randy's recipe. If you change the water volume to 240g, it doubles the dosage. So wouldnt you have to adjust the calrx accordingly?

Im still a newb when it comes to calcium reactors....well...reefing in general so there's a high chance Im dead wrong. Going by the reef chemistry calculator thats widely used, changing the water volume changes the amount needed to dose. For example, for a 120g water volume, for a 1dkh consumption you'll need to dose 85.7ml of Randy's recipe. If you change the water volume to 240g, it doubles the dosage. So wouldnt you have to adjust the calrx accordingly?
That's where my thinking got me confused. I think I will be doing some testing, but i hope someone with experience chimes in here. I'm pretty new to the calcium reactor myself, i had planned on the extra volume when I got the reactor so I got an oversized unit.

That’s if you’re trying to get your total DKH up for the total water volume, not replenishing consumption only.