Calcium Reactor vs 2 part dosing

bsbrown82

Reaction score
I've been dosing BRS 2 part for a couple of years now. I was manually dosing at first and now I'm running a Jebao DP-4 to automate the dosing. My tank is mostly softies & LPS currently. I do have a couple of frags/mini colonies of SPS and 1 clam. I see great growth from my softies but only moderate to no growth from LPS & SPS.

Any advice if a switch to a calcium reactor would help facilitate more growth? My intent is to start moving toward more SPS. I've had no problem maintaining cal, alk & mag levels with the doser. All other parameters are within normal ranges. I just can't figure out why I'm not seeing growth. I just haven't had much success with SPS and can't figure it out.

Tank is a 93 cube with a 30 gallon refugium. Mix of chaeto and calupura in fuge. Eheim 1262 return pump which also feeds a carbon and GFO reactors. Reef dynamics RS-135 skimmer. Lighting is 2 of the full spectrum evergrow LEDS which I have converted to be APEX controllable.

I considered switching over like you are contemplating. I've read once you change over to a Calcium reactor alot of people see a growth spurt with their Sps and once you dial it in its set and forget. However, I have several friends who have had issues with running one. Personally, I decided I like the controllability of dosing and keeping myself engaged in testing and micro managing my tanks. It's probably a downfall of mine. Lol.

I do know when I started switching over from LPS to SPS I had to really stay on top of changing my carbon. I believe it was due to the amount of toxins the LPS released and the SPS didn't really appreciate it. So I believe it hindered their overall health. Just an educated guess on my part.

Changing the GAC is one thing I'm lax on. I will normally change it every 6 - 8 wks instead of sticking to a strict once/month changeout. Thanks for the input so far.