Carbon dosing and clear slime

jbdreefs

Market
Reaction score
So, I've noticed the build up of a white (probably more clear than white) slime in my sump. I can see strings of it attached to the various chords and I'm starting to see accumulations on the sump walls. My assumption is that this is the build up of bacteria related to the No-PoX that I dose. I'm relatively new to carbon dosing, so I don't quite know all the in's and out's. Is this to be expected?

I've also read that, when carbon dosing, one should use a beefy skimmer to more efficiently remove the bacteria consuming the nitrates. I have roughly 45 gallons of water volume and I'm using the RO 150 classic. This skimmer seems like total overkill to me, so I'm hoping that my issue is not really related to my choice of skimmer but more of the normal experience.

I've read many times that people carbon dosing experience a higher rate at which filter socks need to be replaced/rinsed. This is usually attributed to the higher density of the good bacteria that consumes the nitrates. My experience with filter socks and carbon dosing certainly mirrors this.

Based on the experience described above, I presume that equipment needs to be cleaned more regularly (pumps, reactors, etc.).

My questions are as follows:

1) Is this normal?
2) Do I need to beef up my maintenance routine to include a good scrub of the sump and equipment periodically (looks like monthly may be about right). The skimmer chamber definitely has a nice film of this stuff on it.
3) Is this a sign of too much carbon? (my nitrates are sitting between 8 and 12 ppm) Should I reduce my dosing regimen? Based on my nitrate level, My thoughts are that the amount I'm dosing is about right.