Care for open brains and clams?

twistoflime

Market
Reaction score
What are the requirments/care for open brains?
What are the requirments/ care for clams?
I'm new to the hobby so I don't know much about corals. I know alot about softies though. I have MH so almost all corals and stuff should do well in my tank... right?

do some good research before you buy anything. clams need HUGE light and clacium and alk supplements ferquently (they use it iup like mad). The open brains are a little less light needy, and usually thrive if fed meaty foods. That is a very simple overview. Go to wetwebmedia.com, and there should be a good primer for them.

Definitely want to do as much research as you can. http://reefkeeping.com/search/search.php">Reefkeeping Magazine</a> is an excellent source of information. Search for clams and start reading. There are lots of related articles on lighting.

Not all clams require extremely high levels of light and unless you're wanting them to grow as fast as possible, none of them *have* to have lighting any more intense than stony corals.

How suitable your tank is for clams is determined by four things combined:

1. The size/shape of your tank.
2. The type and relative intensity of lighting.
3. Where you want to place the clam in the tank.
4. The species of clam you'd like to keep.

Variations in those parameters can allow for lighting from power compact up to the most intense metal halide around.

So what wattage is your MH bulb and where do you have it over your 30g tank? Is this a 30g rectangular tank? Cube?

After that, you must dose calcium (or do plenty of water changes with a salt mix that has a good calcium level) to maintain good calcium levels.

Open brain corals are a medium light level coral. It requires calcium dosing as well, but unless you have a really intense MH fixture, you probably have the right lighting already.