Changing filters pretty straight forward?

jdavid

Market
Reaction score
I recently acquired a used coralife pure flo II RO/DI unit that needs the filters changed.

I have the prefilter, carbon block, color changing DI resin cartridge, and membrane new in the packages. I have no experience with this unit or any unit that you can open up and change the filters in for that matter as my old one was in-line style.

Anything I need to know before I proceed? Changing the cartridges seems pretty simple but are there any other steps that I should follow before my unit is ready to use?

I know that to flush the unit you would switch the waste water line with the pure water line. Do I need to do that? I don't have a TDS meter so I don't really have any way of testing the water.

Thanks in advance for any advice

In a word, yes. Mine is pretty straightforward, just unscrew the chambers and pop in the new cartridges and close them back up. Be carefully not to pinch or get the O ring out of alignment. The manufacturer states to rinse chambers with bleach but I have only done this once. Hope that helps.

Josh I will add to this that you might want to flush the 3 first stages before you plug them to the membrane, do it until you see clear water coming out from them, might be better to fill a cup with that clean water, let it settle, then check again in that cup of water for any settled particles that might still coming out from the second and third stage, if water seems to be clean I would connect the membrane now, if you connect them once all of them together you might be reducing the life of the membrane due to premature clogging.I have a TDS handheld meter that I can let you borrow, but I believe you only will have 0 tds readings once the membrane has had washed itself from the packing preservative on it. (Someone help if
I'm wrong)

Oh! Another great thing to use is liquid silicone for the "O" rings to prevent from any seal cracking and any leak due to this.