DIY Sump/Fuge Ideas please.

rdnelson

Market
Reaction score
I am going to be building a DIY sump/fuge in the very near future. I am very new to this hobby so I don't know much about sumps and fuges and would like to learn from the mistakes of others. :) My tank is a 45 so I don't need massive at the moment however, I do plan on upgrading at a later date. For that reason, I want to build something that will allow for growth.

Room is a bit limited from a standpoint of foot print however height is not an issue so I was thinking of doing an over under. Any ideas and/or drawings would be a big help to me.

Thanks in advance,
Rich

Everything you want to know about sumps
a>.

Thanks haninja. I have seen that before but had forgotten about it. :)

I can get sheets of Milk White 1/2" Acrylic that at 31" x 31" for $10.00 a sheet. I have a limited foot print to work with but height is not an issue. Here are my plans. Poke all holes you can in it please. I would rather find out now then later.
<fieldset class="gc-fieldset">
<legend> Attached files </legend>
701602=33357-Sump-Refugeum 01-Plan View.jpg
>
701602=33357-Sump-Refugeum 01-Plan View.jpg
class="gc-images" title="Sump-Refugeum 01-Plan View.jpg[/IMG] style="max-width:300px" /></a>
701602=33358-Sump-Refugeum 01-Section 1.jpg
>
701602=33358-Sump-Refugeum 01-Section 1.jpg
class="gc-images" title="Sump-Refugeum 01-Section 1.jpg[/IMG] style="max-width:300px" /></a>
701602=33359-Sump-Refugeum 01-Section 2.jpg
>
701602=33359-Sump-Refugeum 01-Section 2.jpg
class="gc-images" title="Sump-Refugeum 01-Section 2.jpg[/IMG] style="max-width:300px" /></a> </fieldset>

I would only do 1 bubble trap before water goes into return section as it is not needed going into fuge section.

The flow through the fuge is usually slower then the return. Your design doesn't account for that. Your fuge flow will be determined by your tank return pump...

SUMP.jpg
alt="" />