Do I really need/want a calcium reactor?

alikat

Market
Reaction score
I have a 55 g tall that has fish, anemone, zoas, mushrooms, a frogspawn, xenia, goniopora, and colt coral. Do I really want or need a calcium reactor?

you dont need one at all you dont have anything in your tank that has a high calcium demand

Kalkwasser in the top off will probably be more than enough.

waste of money unless you were going to keep sps or clams.

some of you might disagree but i have a 100 gallon and do water changes regularly and i dont have one I have been keeping clams for 11 months and 4 sps for about 5 months tons of lps and zoas

Cameron;97761 wrote: Kalkwasser in the top off will probably be more than enough.

I've never used Kalkwasser. I used to supplement with Ocean's Blend calcium. Would Kalkwasser be better?

Sorry. I know absolutely nothing about calcium supplements. When I had my saltwater aquarium in college, we didn't do that.

if you want to keep everything in line i would use tropicmarin salt it is a little more than other salts but it helps keep everything in line especially sice you dont have any hard corals

mkinna1;97786 wrote: some of you might disagree but i have a 100 gallon and do water changes regularly and i dont have one I have been keeping clams for 11 months and 4 sps for about 5 months tons of lps and zoas

That's fine as long as you do regular water changes. plus, it depends on the size and growth rate you want for the clams and sps. Just because something survives, doesn't mean that it is thriving and happy. But, 4 sps is not much in a 100g, so your demand may not be that bad.

AliKat;97787 wrote: I've never used Kalkwasser. I used to supplement with Ocean's Blend calcium. Would Kalkwasser be better?

Sorry. I know absolutely nothing about calcium supplements. When I had my saltwater aquarium in college, we didn't do that.

Kalk would be cheaper. You can get mrs. wages picking lime from walmart for $3 and make a lot of kalk.