ecosystem Miracle mud

pkaugusta

Market
Reaction score
Does anyone have any experience on
a> Miracle Mud

I considered using it in my refugium so I wouldn't have sand drifting off everywhere. I'm not sure who said it but a couple of members here told me it was worthless. That's all I know about it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2rC5jfG3Wk0">https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2rC5jfG3Wk0</a>
[IMG]http://www.reefs.org/forums/topic13923-40.html">http://www.reefs.org/forums/topic13923-40.html</a>

so there are some mixed reviews. negative from people with limited experience from it. and positive from longtime users. so no protein skimmer at all ?

I'm still a relative newbie but I doubt many people here would advocate running a reef w/o a skimmer.

nope apparently they reduce the skimmer time . I am starting off. so I can start experimenting this system before adding serious livestock .

no need skimmer if you do regular water changes. I have livestock without a skimmer all doing great for last 1 year. just a back hang on filter with purigen

They claim you don't need to feed your fish, add any trace elements, or use a skimmer. The only thing missing is the "but wait, there's more! For the next 100 callers..."

rk4435;963216 wrote: I'm still a relative newbie but I doubt many people here would advocate running a reef w/o a skimmer.

I've run a reef for years without skimming and have had great results. These were small systems and I did water changes very frequently. I am now using a skimmer on a 90G and make sure to turn it off for 24 hours at least once a week.

When it comes to the mud, I'm sure there are some benefits and some drawback like most things in this hobby.
-Nick

Fishdude;963378 wrote: I've run a reef for years without skimming and have had great results. These were small systems and I did water changes very frequently. I am now using a skimmer on a 90G and make sure to turn it off for 24 hours at least once a week.