Eductor?

flyingarmy

Market
Reaction score
Anyone use them...and is there a dramatic water movement?

:boo: or :thumbs:

Thanks in advance!

Massive thumbs up. I've been using them for over 5 years now on two different tanks. they wil dramatically increase flow and if sized right on a pressure rated pump are just unbelievable!

I run my Iwaki 55 through 2 for a return on my 450 now. It's easily puting out 4-5x the pumps output.

I found a DIY for larger plumbing to make your own. I will try to find it again.

Hanin set this to me, go to page 3:

showthread.php

They work great, with the right pump!! if you run a good pressure pump. I think you need at least 6 psi at nozzle. ( never tried the homemade version)

As stated above, educators really need a good pressure rated pump to be effective.

OK yes but you'll get maybe 2x flow instead of the possible 5-6x flow. It's better then nothing but don't expect to be blown away or anything. The really need the pressure rated pumps to push the water through the small opening!

I have 4 pumps that I could use. Which one would everyone suggest?

1. Iwaki WMD30RLT 4' -510-gph
2. Little Giant 3MDQ 3'-650 gph, 6'-590 gph
3. Gen-X PCX-30 3' - 640gph
4. MAG 12 rated 1200gph

I've got an eductor on one of my four locline returns being drive by a Mag 18. It does increase the flow-but it's marginal in my setup 'cause it's only on one of the 4 return lines so any pressure build up sends more water out the other outlets.

To answer Dawgdude--and eductor uses a venturi principle to draw additional tank water along with the return flow from the pump. If you're pumping 500 gph throught the venturi--it may actually circulate 2000 gph by sucking in an additional 1500gph from within the tank.