Effect of Spraying Insecticide

curator

Market
Reaction score
The house in which I live is going to be sprayed for bugs; fortunately I will be away, but need to know precautions I need to take for my tank.

Thanks,

John

I figured some type of cover would be in order. I'm going to get the name of the chemical they are going to use so I can get a better sense of it's toxicity and for how long I need cover the tank.

I would also run fresh activated carbon in the tank while the spraying is going on -- it would help absorb any insecticide that gets in.

Yikes...that's pretty scary! I never would have thought Lysol spray would have been that toxic unless landing directly on the water. I will seal.

cant hurt to cover it. ive been spraying my house for 5 years and never covered or had a problem. i dont spray from about 5 foot on each side of tank.

I've got a hardwood floor project coming up that I'm really worried about with all the dust etc.
What a pain.

I work for arrow and I can tell you that there is no pesticide that I would condone using around birds or fish. DONT SPRAY THAT ROOM.

A skimmer work by pulling air and injecting it into the water, in turn pulling the toxins out of the air and putting them in your tank. Cover and turn off the skimmer for a day and you should be OK. The biggest problem with this is the loss of o2 exchange.

blind1993;223677 wrote: be sure to have some way of getting o2 in the tank.
Thanks Blind.
I would turn off the sump pump and skimmer, cover, and only leave a powerhead running while they spray. Then, wait a few hours, uncover the tank, and start up the sump pump. I would leave the skimmer off for 24 hrs.

The only safe way I see of doing this would be to completely seal off the tank. Shut down the skimmer, return pumps etc. and just have a circulation pump going to provide air exchage. Then, I would introduce an air vent from the outside (which is filtered via mechanical filtration and carbon) to the tank.