Effects of not quarantining.

Have you had a tank catastrophe due to not quarantining

• No, I've never had any ill effects from not quarantining .

Votes: 5 25.0%
  • Kinda, I had a small problem that was fixed quickly.

Votes: 4 20.0%
  • Yes, I've teetered on the verge of the abyss.

Votes: 6 30.0%
  • Definitely Yes, my tank livestock was decimated due to not quarantining .

Votes: 4 20.0%
  • Other (please explain).

Votes: 1 5.0%

• Total voters
As a noob, I didn’t QT fish thinking it was low risk and up until that one fish wipes out $1K in fish and some that I have had for years… yeah, I started QT’ing. That urge to put your new fish into your display went with all the lost fish.

As a noob, I didn’t QT fish thinking it was low risk and up until that one fish wipes out $1K in fish and some that I have had for years… yeah, I started QT’ing. That urge to put your new fish into your display went with all the lost fish.
ouch, haven't had something bad like that before but stories like these are part of the reason I'm setting up a qt tank.
what disease was it?

From not doing proper QT I have nearly lost all my fish from Ich and Brook a few times. Ive nearly lost half my corals due to monti nudies, zoa nudies, and brown jelly. Ive introduced aptsasia, mejanos, fire worms, vermatids, and numerous other annoying critters.

If you have a smaller tank its not as big a deal as the chances are much lower. But when you get in the 180g+ range you have a lot to lose. Its not fun trying to figure out how to remove 48 fish due to an ich outbreak. And it not fun having to treat a whole tank for red bugs or flat worms and not knowing if it even worked.

Its just not worth it.