Fish Problems

samschwitz

Reaction score
Hey guys... I just dealt with ICH in my aquarium and now my yellow tang has red spots on its side and is turning a little darker? I don't really know whats going on with him any help would be great... I just put some mushrooms in my tank and I have noticed they are secreting something... Is this bad for the fish? I am pretty new to this so any help would be great... I lost several fish due to ICH and I really don't want to use anymore... Could it be something bacterial? I also put some xenia in my aquarium and it has died... The nitrate and nitrate levels were high as well and phosphates and ammonia. I did a half water change because it went into a mini cycle... I also used Prime to get the levels safe, right now all the levels are tons better with barely visible nitrate and nitrite levels... Any suggestions would be great!

nitrite will slowly kill your fish,doanother water change till you reach zero. i think your tang might have a secondary infection.

Get some Nori sheets from a publix that sells sushi and soak them with a few drops of Selcon. Also, you can add a little garlic (fresh or Kent's). You need to get your water quality in shape & your Tang needs added boost to it's diet. as right now your Tang will continue to deteriorate and die.

which skimmer?

Something caused your water to become toxic. We'll need to figure out what. Post complete details of your setup and maintenance regimen. Also, how long has the system been running and what have you been adding?