FW Filter Advice

tony_caliente

Market
Reaction score
Hi Folks:

What do you guys/gals like in terms of filtration equipment for a 55 gallon community tank with fake plants?

Thank you!

I've always used AquaClear HOB filters. I've also used a Rena XP3 on a 55g and 75g for years. I ran a Fluval FX5 on my 125g and was a great filter. I know a lot of people use Eheim canisters and love them, I have no experience with those.

Hagen are fine (Aquaclear mentioned above), I'm a fan of the Marineland Emperors - I'd put a 400 on a 55. They're about bullet-proof when it comes to reliability and ease of finding replacement cartridges and/or spare parts. Rarely do they need parts replaced, but if/when you do need a new impeller, they aren't hard to source.

Jenn

The Marineland filter has bio-wheels which serve to provide surface area for beneficial bacteria.

If you use a Hagen Aquaclear, I believe they come with a bag of ceramic media or similar - I'd swap that out for Matrix.

If using a biowheel filter, never wash or replace the biowheels, or it will destroy the bacterial colony. The ONLY time a biowheel should be replaced, is if it's broken. Over time, they will discolor and maybe even turn at a slightly sporadic rate. That is normal. Some areas of the wheel will have more bacteria than others, and it changes the weight of the wheel in spots.

The Marineland filters are very easy to maintain. Rinse the pads weekly, replace monthly (or sooner if they get really gnarly. It's good to take it off periodically and rinse out the body of the filter for any sludge that may accumulate. Easy to remove the intake tube assembly and impeller cover to clean that, and check to make sure the spray bars that spray water onto the biowheels don't get clogged (bent paper clip or a toothpick works if you do get some flotsam stuck in them). By and large they are very low maintenance and very reliable.

Jenn