Glass Distributor

torqued

Market
Reaction score
So now that I have confirmation that my tank is getting rebuilt, I am going to pursue repairing the broken bottom panel in the one that just arrived.

I got a quote from a local glass dealer and they wanted over $800 for the single pane of 72"x24"x3/4"

A 3/8" tempered panel would be like $300.

Anyone got any other ideas?

This is the tank. It's brand new, but arrived damaged on the bottom panel

cfb3cf9cdfd3b76d22b1253be4b8870d.jpg
alt="" />

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

$800 is about right for that size and thickness.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

You could contact glass cages, they sell glass cut to size. They're a bit cheaper than local, but you have to deal with their delivery schedule or pick it up (TN?)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

$800 sounds about right for a retail price on high quality un-tempered glass. I'm no expert on making tanks, but the rule seems to be use thicker un-tempered glass on full rimless tanks with no bottom bracing. Remember that bottom pane is gonna be doing most of the work. I would be nervous using cheaper thinner glass.

800 seems expensive given the tank is made of 3 panels that size, 1 being Starfire. Starfire is easily 2x more expensive, and the tank was $1800....

Torqued;1091422 wrote: 800 seems expensive given the tank is made of 3 panels that size, 1 being Starfire. Starfire is easily 2x more expensive, and the tank was $1800....

It will always be much cheaper buying the whole tank. The company you got the tank from probably pays 1/4 or less of what an end consumer pays just walking into a retail glass shop. Also depends if the shop is cutting it for you or if they order in pre-cut glass for you. That is why most people find out that it really is not cheaper to make your own tank with glass. I'm sure you could find a better deal then $800 if you call around more, but anything under $600 I would personally be nervous there is some compromise in quality.