Guess I should introduce myself

weaglereefer

Market
Reaction score
Hi all, just joined the club. My name is Jeff, I'm a student at Auburn University in Alabama (figured it was close enough to ATL since I do know people who commute to ATL from here).

I've had freshwater tanks since I was a little kid, guppies, mollies, tetras, angels, oscars, cichlids, etc, and have a 10 gallon betta tank in the bar and a 55 gallon community tank in my room with German Blue Rams, Angels, and Cardinal Tetras (from Optimum Aquarium). Anyways, I bought my 75 this past August and was planning to make a Discus tank. I was researching the prices of Discus and thought, if I'm going to pay $60 for a fish, it might as well be a saltwater fish, and that's where it started.

I spent a few weeks researching while the tank sat empty. I built my sump, purchased all the equipment, put the saltwater, sand, and live rock in, and waited some more, still researching. My live rock all came from Optimum Aquarium in Marietta because my girlfriend's family lives up there and it gave me an excuse to go up to her house for a weekend, picking up the rock on the way out of town. I currently have about 90lbs of rock and still would like to get another 20-30lbs before I do my final aquascaping with dowels and what not. The LFS here charges about $10 a pound for rock that is basically seeded lava rock...

On to the livestock; I have 2 Ocellaris Clowns, 3 Chromis, a Six Line Wrasse, an Orange Firefish, a Yellow Headed Jawfish, a Neon Goby, and a Flame Angel. I have one cleaner shrimp and 2 peppermint shrimp, with a host of nassarius, Nerite, Cerith, Astrea, and Turbo snails, as well as some Scarlet Reef Hermits from Optimum Aquarium. All fish are eating frozen food, and the clowns eat flakes as well, straight out of my hand.

I have 2 stalks of Xenia, one Kenyan Tree Coral, a nice sized rock with Green Star Polyps, 2 Ricordea Florida mushrooms, and a Feather Duster.