Hello, the addiction has hit me hard!

nhannon8

Market
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am new to the saltwater addiction and it looks to be a fun journey. I'm sure my start is like a lot of you, my 3 year old daughter saw Finding Nemo for the hundredth time and in her best "puppy dog eyes, daddy please" look said she wanted a Nemo. I thought, why not, and 3 months of research later I am starting a new reef tank. I have read so much and asked so many questions at my local aquarium stores that it all runs together. I'm sure I will be on here with specific questions in the future but I will give you a quick rundown of my setup.

75 gallon drilled tank
10 gallon refugium
15 gallon sump
Eshopps 150 skimmer
2 powerheads
Return pump, not sure what brand/size, came with the setup
About 50lbs of dead rock
100 gpd ro/di unit
Coralife T5 H.O. W/lunar
2 200W heaters (one of which mysteriously fell of the kitchen counter when I was in the other room, first casualty, and of course it was the expensive one that broke, lol)

I purchased the tank, stand, sump, rock, pump, powerheads, heaters and light used. Everything else I have acquired over the past few weeks. I plan on purchasing some live rock, hopefully locally, to help seed the dead rock I have now. The previous owner cleaned and dried the rock well, but I cleaned it again and have been curing it for about two weeks now, changing the water every other day to try to get rid of the leaching phosphates.

I started filling the tank last night, man that's a slow process, and my wife turned the water off this afternoon. I have a heater and a powerhead in there now to get the water ready. When I get home tomorrow, I work for the railroad and am out of town every other day, I am adding the salt. I am fortunate to have the complete backing of my wife and her assurance that she will help feed and monitor the tank the days I am out of town as long as she doesn't have to do any water changes.