Help - Can't keep clownfish alive

ben

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to the hobby, and I'm getting pretty discouraged. No matter how hard I seem to try, I cannot keep clownfish alive.

I found a BioCube 14 on CraigsList awhile back and figured I'd give it a go. I've got it stocked with about 15 pounds of live sand and 12 pounds of live rock. I switched the stock filtration to an "InTank Media Basket", which is holding filter floss, Purigen, and ChemiPure Elite. I am also running a Hydor Korilla Nano powerhead and 2 12" LED strips for lighting.

My water parameters are consistently:
Temp: 80
Salinity: 1.024
Ammonia: 0
PH: 8.1 - 8.2
Alk 9-10 (*buffering with 8.4, drops way low without it)
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: > 5 (usually 0)
Phosphate: 0
Calcium: 420 (dosing with seachem calcifier)

My livestock consists of:
2 x red leg hermit crabs
1 x margarita snail
4 x coral frags (gsp, zoas, kenya tree, green chalice)

So far, two pairs of clownfish (ocellaris) have died in the tank. After the tank had been established for about a week, I added a pair. One died after 48 hours, the next a day or so later. They both quit eating before they died, and they both died overnight.

About two weeks ago I added another pair. The larger of the two quit eating after about a week and died shortly thereafter. The smaller of the two seemed fine. About two days ago, he quit eating as much (still eating though), but died overnight. He didn't even make it a full two weeks. I should note, they both died at night too.

I got the clownfish from my reputable LFS. All of my other livestock are thriving. The corals are exploding with growth, and the snails and hermits seem as happy as can be. I also see a lot of copepods thriving. I've had LFS double check my test results. We are both at a loss as to what's killing my fish.

I would really really appreciate any advice / suggestions.
<fieldset class="gc-fieldset">
<legend> Attached files </legend>
1080669=67176-IMG_2085.jpg
>
1080669=67176-IMG_2085.jpg