Help deciding T5 Bulbs

vettesarebest

Market
Reaction score
Ok guys this is what I am planning on getting. http://www.marinedepot.com/md_viewItem.asp?idproduct=SL2115">http://www.marinedepot.com/md_viewItem.asp?idproduct=SL2115</a>

I don't know much about T5's but I am going to be doing some reading. I would like to know what would be the best combination of bulbs to get for this light as far as colors go. I would like to have a color range to be at 20K.

Thanks guys

dont know much about that light but make sure the bulbs have individual reflectors, thats the key to T5 lighting.

I am no expert and have only been running t'5 for a few months but here is what I found from GrimReefer on RC.

1 UVL Aquasun, Super Actinic, ATI Blue Plus, ATI Aquablue is close to 14k (this is what I have)

Swap the ATI Blue Plus for another ATI Aquablue or GE6500K to get a little whiter look.

http://www.reefgeek.com/lighting/T5_Fluorescent/Sunlight_Supply/Tek_Light_Fixtures/36_inch__Tek_Light:_4-39W_T5_High-Output_Fixture_with_Bulbs_by_Sunlight_Supply">http://www.reefgeek.com/lighting/T5_Fluorescent/Sunlight_Supply/Tek_Light_Fixtures/36_inch__Tek_Light:_4-39W_T5_High-Output_Fixture_with_Bulbs_by_Sunlight_Supply</a>

Same fixture and does include individual reflectors. This version is $340 with bulbs. The non-bulb version is only $288.

Bryan, I've found that with T5's you have to add more 'blue' bulbs than you'd think to get a bluish look. Right now I have two 10000K, one 6500K, two actinic plus (460nm) and one true actinic (420nm) bulb. The tank looks very white with all the lights on, maybe a 10 or 11K. I'm thinking of replacing the 6500K bulb with an actinic.

hth

I got all of my T5s and ballasts from http://www.ReefGeek.com">www.ReefGeek.com</a> They are awesome (the lights and the website) and I highly recommend!
I am running 2 Blue Plus, 2 AquaBlue 11k, 1 GE Sun 6.5k, and 1 Pure Actinic. All of my bulbs are getting pretty old and I should replace them soon.