Help me KILL hair algae......

game411

Market
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm new to this hobby and haven't had my tanks up for more than 2 months, anyway, I was using sunlight to keep my Live rock thriving since I've been having some trouble with business not going too well and money is short, any way, the sunlight worked and keeps them alive and well, but this also caused a HEAVY bloom of green Hair algae, can you guys tell me what is the most varacious feeder of hair algae?

I was told some snails, but forgot the name, but I'm hopping their is something that will devour the crap alot faster than that.

I bought the Live rock from a member here and he told me it's nice to have, and I thought it was a cool peice seeing it sway in the water in his tank, I just didn't know it could grow so dang fast.............

I did increase the flow in my tank using a power head and a powerful filter, but I need something to eat what's left, I pulled out as much with my hands as I could.

If you do know what can eat it and have one that can eat this stuff, I'd appreciate it, I can't afford much at the moment, but any suggestions and offers will be considered.

Thanks.

Sea Hair would be the best choice for a mature tank. Do you have any other inhabitants? If you pick one up, just make sure you drip aclimate him for at least a hour. And once the ahir algae is gone make sure you either feed it with Nori or pass it on to a fellow reefer. If they expire in your tank, you might have a toxicity issue.

I posted this first in your other thread....

Mexican Turbo Snails work amazingly well!! Others will tell you that you need to find the source of the problem as it will come back (which is true somewhat)....get some snails let them eat. Sea Hares, Lettuce nudibranchs, reduced light cycle, water changes, lawnmower blenny will all work to some degree. My best solution from my experience has been Mexican turbo snails.