help with sump

anthony

Market
Reaction score
this is probably been posted here before. Im building a sump with refugium. Actually already built it..im useing a 55 gallon tank with baffles made from plexi. But i used GE silicone ll .woke up the next morning and everything was wilting. So I took it out put the old one back in and rebuild the new one using GE l silicone.Which smells worst than GE ll. My question is , everthing ive read says that GE l Is reef/aquarium safe. But I noticed that the one in stock has a GE l* . That (*) has me worried. Does anyone know if thats ok? Also I scraped all the old GE ll silicone out but there was a small film of it stuck to the original tank silicone (about a inch) that I couldnt get off so I rubbed it til it was barely visible then siliconed over it with GE l to seal it in. Will that be ok? Should I use any kind of solution to wash sump out to get rid of residues? If so whats best to use? Thanks for the help..as you can tell im a newb. Anthony
P.s things are coming back to life but I dont think my tank csn take another hit like this.

How long did you let it set up? Needs at least 24 hours if not more because the drying agent is given off as a gas which could be absorbed by the water.

I know some of the GE stuff is fine to use and recommended. Just don't remember which. But bottom line, if it says "food grade" on it you will be fine. I know that some Ace hardware stores carry some marked "aquarium safe". HD sometimes has it but it is hot and miss.

Hope that helps. Good luck.
Rich

The funny thing is most everything seems to be making a comeback...except my aptasias....my tank was
Infested with them and now I dont see a single one...lol maybe it was a blessing...lol

Edit: Yea I let it cure for a week...I guess I will just have to try and see what happens.. thanks for the help Rich..