Hey guys! New Member from Tucker

bycjoe

Market
Reaction score
Just wanted to stop by and say hello! My names Joe and I live in Tucker with my wife and wonderful 8 month old son. Im a SSI certified scuba diver and have always loved the ocean and started a freshwater 20g tall about a year ago, but that wasn't enough for me and after a little bit of convincing the wife let me buy a 40g breeder that I will be setting up once I finish building the stand and canopy and lights.

All that being said I am a residential contractor and am really big into DIY projects, feel very comfortable with electrical and plumbing, and have been studying reef tanks for about the past 3 months and have decided on a 40g breeder with my old 20g tall as a sump, I plan on drilling the bottom of the tank so I can get it fairly flush with the wall, I have a 24 LED kit from rapid with another 12 coming that will mount on my custom canopy with a Typhon controller.

Thats about all I have set in stone right now, still deciding on a return pump and powerhead(s), and debating on whether or not to get a skimmer as well as my overflow design though I have decided to make it myself

As far as livestock goes I plan on starting with some hardy/bright corals and at least a pair of clowns and would like a Flame Angel even though I've heard its possible he might nip at corals, Other than that I'm open to suggestions :confused2: I just want to take everything one step at a time and slow and try to make my setup as bullet proof as possible.

Anyways just wanted to introduce myself, I've been lurking for a few weeks and yall sound like a great group of people :yay: Ill put some pics up of my leds and tank once I figure out how to get them off my phone!

Darth Reefer;848751 wrote: Welcome to ARC! We will be needing lots of pics once you start your build.

Welcome aboard, Man. Greetings from Montgomery, AL...

BTW: Darth Reefer is right. Pics of your stuff is not optional. :shades: :)