High Alk, Med pH, High Mag, No Ca

shanepike

Market
Reaction score
I am new to the SPS-keeping game. I've had a calcium reactor for almost 3 months now, and I'm struggling to figure out how to get everything dialed in so that the levels stay right.

Right now, here are my levels:
Mag - 1340
Alk - 5.0
Ca - < 290 (below the scale on my Red Sea measuring kit)
pH - 8.2
Temp - 78.5

In the time that I've been running the reactor, Ca has consistent been at the bottom of, or even completely off, the chart. It has never been decent. Mag has always been super high (as it is now). Alk has always been decent and only within the last few days has it gotten this high (as evidenced by my GSP being so under expanded).

The pH in the tank varies by about 0.1 in a given 24-hour period. Once it drops below 8.2, I shut off the CO2 so that it doesn't drop the pH any lower. The effluent continues to drip, however, and the pH will bottom out at about 8.15. (My Korallin c1502 does not have a pH probe in the reactor itself.)

The light in my fuge runs from 10pm to 7am. My blues run 10am to 9pm. My whites run 10:30am to 8:30pm.

I've been reading, and I still have much more reading to do, but I wanted to ask as well in case there was something simple I could do that I haven't figured out yet that would significantly raise the Ca while gently easing the other two down a hair.

Off to reread Acroholic's great thread again :)

In once again re-reading my manual, I see now that I haven't yet achieved CO2 saturation. I'm going to focus on that and see what effect that has.

I also suspect I may need to dose Ca just to get up to levels that can be maintained rather than relying on the reactor to bring levels up to snuff.

Shane,