How do you quarantine your livestock (If you do at all)?

How do you quarantine your fish?

• Like a week or two and I quarantine inverts.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Like 3-4 weeks and I quarantine inverts

• Like 5-6 weeks and I don't quarantine inverts

• Other (Please explain)

• Total voters

Mackey

Market
Reaction score
Hey ya'll,
I'm a complete newbie and trying to figure out how the layman quarantines their fish (or doesn't for that matter).
any contribution to the poll would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks!

That has some good info regarding the current suggested qt procedure by Jay Hemdal, he has written several books and used to be a curator for one of the large public aquariums.

That has some good info regarding the current suggested qt procedure by Jay Hemdal, he has written several books and used to be a curator for one of the large public aquariums.
thx, Ill take a look at that!

Ive never heard of a 76 week (or day) quarantine.

You can catch the majority of potential catastrophies in ~4 weeks between copper and prazi, as well as observe for behavioral issues that could result in livestock death.

At my old LFS, every fish went through these 4+ weeks of qt and medication before moving to the showroom/store and sold to public. Few-None LFS's do this in Atlanta. The majority (maybe 75-95%) of fish direct from wholesalers were infected with one thing or another, depending on type of fish. The vast majority of Tangs had ich. Worm (of various types) infections were also very common. Other ailments were not rare, just less common than ich or worms.

Inverts were not qt'd.... just inspected on arrival and observed/remedied in isolated systems.