how long to store mixed saltwater...

atlweb

Market
Reaction score
If saltwater is mixed and sealed in a container for a month (but not with a powerhead), would that be okay? In the past I have had an RO unit, so this is my first time having to buy saltwater. I would prefer to buy 5 gallons worth (1 month worth of water changes on my nano), and just do 1.5 gallon water changes every week.

Same applies with RO water: is month old top off water okay? I am assuming just adding some sort of ph buffer in it will keep it steady?

RO should keep for a VERY long time. And I've never buffered my ATO water.

Saltwater I've kept for a couple months in a brute garbage can with a lid, but I've always kept a powerhead in it.

atlweb;778695 wrote: If saltwater is mixed and sealed in a container for a month (but not with a powerhead), would that be okay? In the past I have had an RO unit, so this is my first time having to buy saltwater. I would prefer to buy 5 gallons worth (1 month worth of water changes on my nano), and just do 1.5 gallon water changes every week.

Same applies with RO water: is month old top off water okay? I am assuming just adding some sort of ph buffer in it will keep it steady?

Should be good in a 5 gallon pail just shake well before you use it each time or get RO water and mix your salt a little bit before you need and ck salinity

Stephen I have been doing that for 3 years with no problems. Just make sure to shake and aerate it.

The key to keeping saltwater is to keep it mixing. I'd invest in a cheap small powerhead. You won't have to think about mixing it or worry about the water being bad.

The other key is watching the evap to
make sure the salinity does not climb.

iPhone, Tapatalk, Tpyos

Has anyone ever run a water test on salt water that is just mixed(30mins-1hr) and compared it to salt water that has been sitting for a while? I'd be curious to hear the results.