How many fish can I keep in my 30g?

twistoflime

Market
Reaction score
Hey I'm new to saltwater so I have a few questions. I have a 30g tank that has been up and running for 5 weeks now. It has 1 fire fish goby (I've had him for 2 weeks) , 2 large hermit crabs, and 6 nassurius snails. I would like to put in a black perc pair, 2 pearly jawfish, and a citron clown gobey. I plan on taking it slow. I will get the black perc pair first, then wait 3 weeks. Then get the jawfish, wait 3 weeks and then get the citron clown gobey. Is that to big of a bioload for my tank?

Yeah, you're gonna have to get real specific if you want an accurate estimate.

Mainly, what kind of equipment are you running and what is your water change schedule? That doesnt sound like a really big bioload, to me if you have enough live rock and a skimmer, and do weekly-biweekly waterchanges.

I do 10% water changes biweekly.
The black and white percs will be 4 inch (female) 2 inch (male)
jawfish will be 4 inch each (they burrow in the sand and stay in the burrow most of the time, if that makes any differece)
firefish goby will be 3.5 inch
yellow clown goby will be 1.5 inch
I use an aqua clear filter (the ones that hang off the back of your tank) that is for 10g to 30g.
All of the fish sizes are the absolute biggest they will get. Most of the fish will be smaller than the size listed.

I would look into much better filtration for that bioload. You will at least need a decent quality protein skimmer if not a small sump/refugium. Hang on back filters are often times not enough to support a healthy saltwater ecosystem, especially when you're running the bare minimum for your size tank. Of course, everybody does things their own way. How many pounds of live rock and sand do you have?

I have 16 pounds of live rock and 20 pounds of sand. My friend gave me thae tank saying it was a 20g but I started filling it up with pre mixed water from the LFS it ended up being 30g.

My tank demensions are:
width:24 inch