Ich problem.. whats the simplest way to treat this?

yong269

Reaction score
150gal tank. just fish now... what do i need to get to treat it? whats the easiest simple way to treat this? what additive do i need to get? Any recommendations will be greatly appreciated... Thanks!!!

If you have inverts: Throw skrimps and scalops and clams in the blender, along with a leaf or two of garlic, mix in some metronidazole, free it into portions and feed it. It works like magic, keep doing this for 2 weeks then go buy a UV unit.

I've been battling ich for 6 months and thats the only thing that worked for me. The other ich treatment that does into the water does not work.

If no inverts that you care for, any saltwater ich treatment would do, more copper the better.

I am gonna go a different way than ouling here- while the feed suggestions he mentioned have been anecdotally mentioned to work, there are surely not guaranteed or quick.
I also want to strongly caution about copper usage. Copper is toxic, even to fish at high enough levels, so I hope I am reading Oulings post wrong. Definitely NOT the more, the better. If you use copper, use it exactly y the dosage recommended, and buy a copper test kit.

Brandon has a number of excellent posts on this forum of accurate and beneficial ways to treat ick, just find one of them.

yea i was joking about copper in the fish tank, but if its fish only then you're fine with the regular dosage of the thing. I have found it extremely hard to get rid of a massage ich outbreak in the reef tank. That KickIch treatment garbage do not work, so don't even bother with it. The only way to kill the ich in the water in a sensitive reef tank is probably massage dose of metronidazole (40% effective), and UV or/+ ozone. UV is the most effective way to get the thing out of your water.