Instant/quick cycle?

shrike

Supporting
Reaction score
I'm looking to do a quick cycle on a smaller tank but I've never done one before. I know how the process works but does anyone know if any lfs and the metro area sells clean live rock, and does anyone know or recommend live bacteria like DR. Tims from experience. I likely have enough live rock and sand but I'm curious if anyone in the area has had success or the opposite trying to get live rock from one of the local fish stores or just using something like doctor Tim's. I want to test this out on a smaller scale before I do a tank transfer that may require me to have fish and coral in a separate tank for a couple days.

I jump started all of my additional tanks by just taking media and rock from an existing/established tank I had, along with bottled bacteria and new live sand. I waited a few days when I first set up my 4.8 gallon desk mate, only having a few zoas and mushrooms to start off.

When I upgraded that tank into the 15g cube it’s all in now, I didn’t even bother with new live sand. Just added more media from my 25g and all the live rock that was in the deskmate. No bacteria for that one either, as I was taking media and rock from 2 other tanks.

My 'insta tank' process is to add any bottled bacteria to a newly set up tank and give it 2-4 days no light, then I go buy a bunch of corals with skeletons such as lobos, toss them in there and call it a day. I've done this 4 times myself successfully, I just don't put anything too expensive in right away and I expect to have a couple of things not make it. YMMV, it doesn't work for everyone, but it's worked for me.

The fastest cycle I have experience with is using Fritzzyme products. The Turbostart #9 takes 5 days or less. You can order it fresh online delivered to your house. Follow their directions and it works.