Introduction and Recommendations

Ishharris

Supporting
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I've been a member of the forum for a while now, but never actually took the time to post anything. I'm hoping to start being a little more active.

I've been keeping fish tanks for going on 10 years now. Ive had anything from a small 10 gallon fish only, a 40 breeder reef tank, and all the way up to a 150 gallon predator tank.

Currently I have the following tanks up and running.

- 75 gallon Cichlid tank
- 65 gallon Planted tank (first attempt at this)
- 20 gallon Hexagon Commhnity Tank (this is my wife's play tank)
- 40 Breeder reef tank

I am in the process of replacing my 40 Breeder with a Red Sea Reefer 350. Took a long time, but I finally "convinced" the wife to let me do it. I'm planning on sitting the tank beside my current 40 Breeder and taking some time to set it up slowly before I transition everything over. The only thing I currently have in my 40 are 2 clowns, CUC, cleaner shrimp, bi-color blenny, 2 hammer corals, flower pot, zoas, green mushrooms, and a big rock of GSP.

Anyway. So far I have the following items purchased for the tank. Vortech L2, 2 Aquamaxx Media Reactors, 1 Aquamaxx Biopellet reactor, 1 MP40, sand, rock, and salt. I'm planning to change out the return plumbing to a manifold to run the 3 reactors, if I can manage to fit all 3, a 4th output for possibly a sterilizer in the future, and the return, all off the L2.

I plan to go ahead and set the tank up, using Dr. TIMS One and Only, and adding a fish or 2 then allowing it to run until I can purchase my lights and skimmer before I move my other fish and corals over and start adding more stuff.

Now for the recommendations/questions.

1. I am planning to use the Red Sea ReeferLEDs for my tank, does anyone have any experience with these? I like the amount of research that went I to them and the simplicity they offer while still theoretically giving everything you need.