Is my lighting sufficient?

dmahoney82

Market
Reaction score
I ran power compacts on my 55gal for a number of years with great results. Obviously, I only had soft corals and fish. A few months ago I boughted me some metal halides!!! The fixture is 48" dual 150watts. I bought some 14K Phoenix bulbs and love them. They run from 10am-8pm. I've been using the actinic bulbs(2 55watts) from my power compacts at night for 2 hours after the halides go off.I do not use them in the morning, since my tank receives plenty of light during sunrise. That being said, A couple months ago I added some sps frags from Rit who I can't be more appreciative to. A hell of a tank, and I'm sorry to hear about the recent tragedy. They all seem to be fine as far as crusting over where they were glued and coloring up. Today I picked up 5 more frags! I am aware that running 250watt mh would be better than the 150's. I am not a moran, but I am new to the world of sps. Would running the 2 55watt pc's(non-actinic) make a difference? I know my other frags are growing, but I just want to make sure that I am providing sufficient light to my homies in the glass box.

Thanks,

Danny

You should be fine with what you have now. To tell you the truth, i do not think that if you got 2 10K PCs in there instead of the actinics, that they are going to add very much Par at all. With how high they are over the water, most of the juice of PC will not make it more then 1/2 way down the tank anyways. I would stick with the config you got right now.

Very nice! Me so happy! By the way Brandon that xenia is starting to scare me in how fast it has taken off. Both pieces attached themselves within two days, and have now split off a friend onto the rock I was trying to cover. Thanks again.

Here are a couple of opinions on 2 x150 on a 55 gallon: