Is this brown silicone safe?

carey1465

Market
Reaction score
A couple spots on the inside of the tanks silicone have this brown spots. I just bought the tank and it was holding water at the guys house. Is this going to be safe to fill?View attachment 43225

I am no silicone expert, by far, but I wouldn't feel comfortable using it unless a knowledgeable person enlightened me that it was only a color change, and not degradation of the material.

I'm a silicone guy-retired. Is there other silicone in the tank that's not discolored? If so, it might not be silicone at all but some other sealant laid over the seam. I've had tanks for 40 years and have never seen that color. If you can reach the sealant, touch it and see if it's still flexible. If it's hard then it's not silicone.

DonS;839538 wrote: I'm a silicone guy-retired. Is there other silicone in the tank that's not discolored? If so, it might not be silicone at all but some other sealant laid over the seam. I've had tanks for 40 years and have never seen that color. If you can reach the sealant, touch it and see if it's still flexible. If it's hard then it's not silicone.

There's only a few spots that are like that. I did touch the spots and they do seem spongy. I have water in the tank and I'll keep it in there until I finish up with the stand. It seems to be holding water.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I think that the fact that it holds water now, doesn't mean that it will hold it for long, vs clear regular silicone that is always used to seal tanks, IMO better safe than sorry.
Then an experienced guy on silicone already gave you his trusty opinion =)

Cut it out. Buy the caulking helpers as seen on tv. Re-caulk. Wait two days. Done. It's too easy not to do it.

I'm thinking about going that route and caulking it. On a scale of 1-10, how hard is it? I should caulk the whole tank while I'm at it? I'm very nervous about this project. Lol. I'm pretty handy around the house so I should be fine. Any tips?