Jebao - 3 years in

danh

Market
Reaction score
I've been using Jebao return pumps for 3 years now and powerheads for 2. The first year of returns was freshwater. I had two running a 210. I never had to touch them. After those 12 months, it was a no brainer for me, having only used Danner mag drives prior to that, which I HATED. I had used two mag36 pumps on a 480g that were incredible loud, sucked power and lasted less than a year.

The first 12 months or so of saltwater were also fine with no real issues. I cleaned the powerheads a a couple of times because I could see they needed it. Now in the last 12 months, uncleaned return pumps started seizing. Honestly I didn't know exactly how to clean them so because I had a spare, I just replaced it. Then the spare went so I bought a new sin wave pump. It started seizing after a few weeks. At that point I was out of pumps so I started opening them up. I soaked them in vinegar and water and got a lot of gunk off. The sin pump after just a month or two wouldn't work even after being cleaned. Luckily one of the older ones is working fun. Powerheads are seizing every week or so. I take them out, quickly clean them and they get back to working.

This week I realized that 3 out of 4 power heads had a real issue with the impellers. The ceramic sleeves that house the ceramic impeller shaft were seized together. I couldn't get them off. They've been soaking for days now and I still can't get them off. I know I didn't make it a point to take them off every time I cleaned them but I know I took them off sometimes.