Kalkwasser Reactors...specifically kalk stirrers

sammy33

Market
Reaction score
I have started looking at Kalk stirrers. The only ones I have found so far are:

Aqua Medic KWS 1000 (4x18.5) - $219

Deltec KM500 (6x19) - $439

MRC Sm Nilsen (4.5 x18) - $290

Well the Aqua Medic looks to be the least money. The new MRC nilsen reactor has the motor timer built in - kinda cool! The Deltec is expensive.

Was wondering if there were any other kalk stirrers (not circulation pump style) and if anyone had any experience with these listed above or others?

I have no experience with the AquaMedic or the MRC but I've used the KM500 and am currently using a KM500s. The Deltecs are quite expensive and I went with them mainly because I liked the idea of a stirrer versus the other types (stir bar, recirculating pump). I've found them to be able to keep the tank parameters more consistent thoughout the day than the stir bar reactors that I had used previously. This is probably the result of the stirrer operating 24/7 versus a timed pump or stir bar that only mixes a few times a day. When I was researching them, the only ones available were the AquaMedic and Deltec. Not sure if there are any other available now.

I tried searches on several message boards and this is about what I found. There doesn't appear to be many choices with this peice of equipment.

Did not find many reviews of stirrer usage but I see a lot who use the DIY flow through style and the pump driven kalk reactors. I have tried the flow through style and it does ok but with a heavy calcium demand the stirrer style seems to have the best potential.

Another one:

Barr Aquatic KR1020 (6x18) $299

I am sure that I remember seeing others. :huh: