Lighting schedule anyone?

reeferkeifer

Market
Reaction score
Hello fellow aquarists. I am new to the marine aquarium hobby but not to having aquariums. The idea of leaving certain lights on for most of the day is new to me. I have a 48", 2 bulb light with moon light LED's but it is not programmable and only has 1 power chord. Some of the lights I have seen has 2 chords for the different lights. I am planning to put a timer on for the blue and white light to leave on for about 8 hours each. My work schedule keeps me away from the house early in the morning into the evening. Can anyone give me tips? Is turning on the blue and white at the same time on a timer for about 8-10 hours a day ok? Any tips for good programmable light fixtures.

Thanks

I would set a timer for 4 hours starting 30 minutes before you get home from work.
This will allow your corals enough time to open and for you to enjoy the tank while you're at home.
Don't make the mistake of leaving lights on too long and having nutrients high enough to cause a bad hair algae outbreak.
You can slowly increase your photo period so long as your parameters are in check.

So you suggest blue and white light for just 4 hours? Also, I did not mention that I just set the tank up last Saturday. Its a 90 gallon with 70 pounds of live rock, 100 pounds of live sand and no livestock yet. I am still dialing in the protein skimmer and I am going to test my water for all levels tonight.

Yeah, your minimum photoperiod is 4 hours with corals.
Right now you can have a shorter photoperiod as you don't have livestock.
Better to side with a shorter time frame as to avoid algae.

Do you have a programmable light fixture? If so, do you like it and what brand?

That is my next buy. When I do have livestock, what time schedule do you recommend?

I find anywhere from 7-9 hours fosters decent coral growth without promoting too much nuisance algae. Been running at 8 for the last 6 months and everything's looking great.