Live sand bed is crunchy and hard

dolfan

Market
Reaction score
I just did a water change and I usually vacuum my sand bed a bit to remove a small amount of cyno that builds up in one area. Today I went to dig the vacuum into the sand and it just stopped, and I moved it around I found that this whole area had a crust and in places it was really hard! I'm going to guess this is something to do with my dosing of Alk and CA, Kalk? I know this is new as last water change this was not happening and based on my APEX records that was just 3/11/20.

I've been testing pretty regularly and my parameters are the following:

SG 1.025
PH 8.2
KH 8-9
CA 380-400
Mg 1350-1390

I've been dosing Kalkwasser for a couple of years and in the last 6 months I have that automated and running well via APEX without any issue. But in the past 5-6 weeks I have started to use more Fusion 1 & 2 to try to maintain a good level for Alk and CA.

All my inhabitants are doing well, I have a mix of Acros/Zoes/Frogspawn/Mushrooms and all are going well, even decent growth on the Acros.

Any help is appreciated.

I experienced the same thing recently under a rock ledge, it was like a clump of cat litter. Due to the location of my clump I figured it was caused by reduced flow and detritus settling.

It happens. I just break it up occasionally.

Having sifters like Diamond & Sleeper Gobies can help.

Carbon dosing has been known to accelerate clumping too.

It happens. I just break it up occasionally.

Having sifters like Diamond & Sleeper Gobies can help.

Carbon dosing has been known to accelerate clumping too.

Speaking of diamond gobies...are they known to jump out of tanks? I just bought one and found him dead on the floor between the wall and the cabinet.

Speaking of diamond gobies...are they known to jump out of tanks? I just bought one and found him dead on the floor between the wall and the cabinet.