Long term with Glass Cages tanks?

george

Market
Reaction score
Anyone have any long-term experiences with a Glass Cages tank?

Whats your definition of long term? Mine is going on for a year now. Their tanks might not compete comestically but longevity, I think they might outlast some other tanks. Their glasses are thicker in comparison.

Bought mine used and its been up for over a year with no issues. If I were buying new, I would get the cover for the overflow so fish will have a harder time getting in there. Its a pain to fish them out. Like their stands as there is no center brace just very heavy exterior plywood all around to hold in place.
Canopy is good also.

From what I've read, they don't have longevity issues. They have cosmetic and customer service issues.

there was someone here who had customer service issues with them. i forgot who it was but they jerked him around about the tank for a couple of weeks. and he was pissed

Although I have no personal experience with them, I find it odd that there is so many negative posts about their customer service, or lack thereof. Where there's smoke, there must be at least a little flame. If it were me, I would steer clear of Glass Cages.

tyleratl;146387 wrote: Although I have no personal experience with them, I find it odd that there is so many negative posts about their customer service, or lack thereof. Where there's smoke, there must be at least a little flame. If it were me, I would steer clear of Glass Cages.

You can't beat their prices or their selections. Even if you can't find the right sizes amoung the 50 or so sizes listed on their site, you can have them customize it.

I remember reading about some issues with the bracing on their larger glass tanks. IIRC, the braces snapped but it was repairable. Don't remember where I saw that, however

I "heard" "read" horror stories..hear say? Probably, but enough to have me steer clear of em...