Long Time Lurker

freddy4130

Market
Reaction score
Hello all. I am new to the hobby. In fact, I do not even on a tank yet. All I have is the itch. I have been lurking the forums for a little over a month and I must complement you guys on having the most fun and active forum I have seen. As well as the most informative. I live in Birmingham and Alabama has only got about three people with reef tanks.

I am very interested in doing this. I have the time, money and desire. I have been doing all the research hoping I would read/see something that would talk me out of getting into this hobby. I have found nothing scary enough to do that so I think I am going to take the plunge sometime around the beginning of the year.

I really don't see myself starting with a really small tank and "upgrading" for the next couple of years. My intention is to start with a big tank (110-150g) and just build the reef slowly over the next few years/forever. What say you guys? If you could start all over in the hobby how would you guys do it? Good to be here. Can a guy in Alabama be in the Atlanta reef club once he gets a reef? LOL.

Welcome, you can become a member anytime you want. When I started, it was with a small tank, 24G, that I probably put just as much time, effort, and money into as I would have a larger tank. I think if you go slow and it sounds like you are willing to do that, then I think it's a good decision to start out in the range you mentioned. There are lots of guys with way more experience than I have that will be willing to help out with good advice. If you haven't done so already, get a copy of "The Conscientious Marine Aquarist" by Bob Fenner and read through it. It is an excellent place to begin learning. Good luck!

welcome!!

going big is a real good idea!! take the time to do the research. Watch the for sale threads, you can find some great deals there.

good luck and enjoy your newest addiction!!

Jason