Metal halide tripping breaker, help

jdavid

Market
Reaction score
I have a luxcore select-a-watt ballast and a lumen right mini pendant (both coralvue products) and what was a brand new 400w radium.

I just tried to fire it for the first time and it immediately tripped the breaker.

The cord from the ballast to the pendant comes stripped and I had to use wire nuts on the three wires (black, white, green). Now I'm no rocket scientist but I assume that you match the colors lol.

Upon plugging in the power supply the bulb attempted to fire for about 1 second then the breaker flipped. Unplugged everything else in the room, waited for it to cool down, same thing happened.

The lamp now looks greyish-black.. I'm assuming this is normal after firing twice??

Is the problem where I connected the wires??

Edit: I have unplugged the ballast from the pendant and left the ballast plugged in (there is no on/off switch on the ballast)

Now the breaker is not flipping.

84C2E6B1-F4E4-46BB-B324-47DD816CDBCB_zpspabmgmng.jpg
alt="" />

79E5E206-E025-44FA-AD02-7998EC7DA2FC_zpsn0wojkzi.jpg
alt="" />

Maybe a bad bulb or ballast then again you could be pulling to much power find a outlet closest to the braker and try there

I'm guessing too much load on that one breaker (most likely 15 amp), as you probably have other "stuff" plugged in that same circuit.

or bad (short) ballast.

plug it in another circuit, say kitchen and see what happens....

I ran an extension cord to the bathroom, but I also went to Walmart and picked up some screw on wire nuts. It's working now, but I haven't tried plugging it up in here yet. Sure would suck if it doesn't work in this room, I did try unplugging everything else before.