Mixing Station info

Clay

Supporting
Reaction score
I'm still fairly new to the hobby and have just started filtering my own water. I've done a bit of research but I'm curious how others in the community are constructing their salt mixing stations. Any input or advice will be much appreciated. Thanks.

It really depends on how much you need to mix up at one time. Doing 5-10 gallons can be done in buckets. If you're making 20+ at a time then things get a little different. It also depends on how much space you have and whether or not you put something in a semi permanent location. I've had the space and like to let gravity do a lot of the work for me. But I've been mixing 55 gallon batches.

So, how much do you need to make at a time?
Do you have space to put it or do you need something mobile?

It really depends on how much you need to mix up at one time. Doing 5-10 gallons can be done in buckets. If you're making 20+ at a time then things get a little different. It also depends on how much space you have and whether or not you put something in a semi permanent location. I've had the space and like to let gravity do a lot of the work for me. But I've been mixing 55 gallon batches.

So, how much do you need to make at a time?
Do you have space to put it or do you need something mobile?
Space is not an issue. I'm doing this in my basement and there is enough room. I'm currently draining my RO water into a food grade 55 gallon container but I've yet to mix anything.

I'm still fairly new to the hobby and have just started filtering my own water. I've done a bit of research but I'm curious how others in the community are constructing their salt mixing stations. Any input or advice will be much appreciated. Thanks.
I keep about 100 gallons of RODI fresh water and mix as I need. Many salts these days mix pretty quick and honestly I got tired of keeping temps from getting too high or too low.