Muriatic acid

olds350racer

Market
Reaction score
It's been suggested to me to use muriatic acid to get rid of calcium buildup on equipment. Is there any tricks/tips to using it (like don't mix it with ____ or dilute it with ____)? I'm not a chemist... so I try to use caution when using a chemical I've never used before (especially the ones with "acid" in the name). :) Thanks for any advice.

Use a 1 to 20 (acid/water) solution and it works wonders on calcium deposits.

be real careful about the fumes from concentrate..They can REALLY get to ya. but yeah..like mufret, I suggest diluting it.

Keep in mind that you ALWAYS add acid to water not the other way around. Doing the reverse may cause a violent reaction and acid may spray all over the place... not a good thing :).

FutureInterest;181034 wrote: Keep in mind that you ALWAYS add acid to water not the other way around. Doing the reverse may cause a violent reaction and acid may spray all over the place... not a good thing :).

Thanks for clarifying Jin! Was trying to keep the answer short and left out a very important fact.

FutureInterest;181034 wrote: Keep in mind that you ALWAYS add acid to water not the other way around. Doing the reverse may cause a violent reaction and acid may spray all over the place... not a good thing :).

From Chemistry 101- "add acid to the wat-ah, just like you oughtta". I paid money to go go to college to learn that!</em>

Oh, and if you want a less scary alternative, you can just use white vinegar. It is cheap and "safe".

Yeah- muratic acid is pretty serious stuff. If you really have a need for it (vinegar will work for everything fish related I can think of), be sure</em> to dilute it, and use it outside. The fumes are killer...

Also- be careful what it touches. I'm not 100% sure what the affect of it is against the variety of plastics, acrylics, and solvents that we use in our tanks... the pH of muratic acid is around 1.0 - typical use is to etch concrete.