My DIY LED Build

ksicard

Market
Reaction score
Hey all,

I bought a frag tank that I'm currently in the process of setting up and I decided to build a new LED rig for my DT and then transfer my old DIY fixtures over to the frag tank and figured I would document the build. I've been building LED rigs for about 3 1/2 years now and I'm going to be producing my best fixture yet!

I'm using a 36" Makers LED heatsink that will have 28 3w royal blues, 14 3w neutral whites, 20 3w hyper violets, 8 3w true blue cools, 8 3w reds, 8 3w greens, and 8 3w cyans. All together this makes 282 watts of LED power. The fixture will be going over my 75G DT and after I move in August hopefully over a 120G DT. The reds, greens, and cyans will have 90 degree optics and the hyper violets will have 60 degree optics and the rest will be using standard 120 degree optics.

This time around I'm making a few key changes in my design. First, I will be using a cluster pattern design for the LED layout where previously I just spaced them out and would end up getting a bit of the disco affect. Secondly, because I am a nerd I will be using a Blue Fish LED controller that will allow me to program my LED's from my phone or computer. Totally unnecessary but defintely cool.

I've attached a few photos of what I have so far. I have only completed the layout of LED's on the fixture as well as thermal pasted and screwed the LED's down into the heatsink. The heat sink I'm using is really the best on the market since it allows me to screw the LED's into place and if I ever want to upgrade the LED's I simply unscrew them and change them out for new LED's. I'm going on vacation tomorrow so I wont be getting anymore completed till I get back.
<fieldset class="gc-fieldset">
<legend> Attached files </legend>
fieldset>

This is interesting - what are you using for drivers? PWM?