My DIY overflow box

ckwatson

Market
Reaction score
well this is my first time trying this so we will see how it goes. It was made out of 1/4" acrylic. I still need to paint it black.

The pieces after cutting them, I cut them with a circular saw with a fine toothed blade.

IMG_2781Small.jpg
alt="" />

And now after the DAP aquarium silicone

IMG_2782Small.jpg
alt="" />

IMG_2783Small.jpg
alt="" />

So there it is, it needs a little clean up done I made a bet of a mess with the silicone.

that looks great .......my question ould be though how do you know how many GPH it will handle?

That looks very nice!

One thing though... why use silicone over weld-on?

could not find weld-on at any store around me, and i had just as many people telling me to use weld-on as i did telling me to use silicone. If it falls apart when i do my water test on the system I will find somewhere to get or order weld-on.

I got my design for this web site http://www.barraquatic.com/overflows.php">http://www.barraquatic.com/overflows.php</a> so i am taking a chance but i made it out of extra acrylic i had from cutting the baffles for my sump. So it is a trial and error thing. I am hoping i will get enough. It is going in a 45 gallon tank and it is 8"x4"x7" with a 1" drain line

here it is in the tank

[IMG]http://i133.photobucket.com/albums/q57/photosbykyle/saltwater%20tank/IMG_2791Small.jpg alt="" />

I've got plenty of weld-on you can use if you choose. I live pretty close to the wierdo that drilled that tank for you. I've got some acrylic that I would love for you to cut :). I can never get mine to look that nice.

Yeah chris drilling the hole was a big help and he did a good job. I can cut your acrylic for you but you may want to see my work up close the teeth are not the best i have seen, but it was my first one so an more cuts i make should only get better

I think your box looks nice but let me ask you why use a box if you have a hole?